Flotsam and Jetsam – ‘The End of Chaos’ album review

Band: Flotsam and Jetsam
Album: The End of Chaos
Release Date: 18th January, 2019
Label: AFM Records



Review by John 

For a band that are edging towards their 40th anniversary, Flotsam and Jetsam remain one of metal’s most underappreciated acts. Still known to many people simply as the band that Metallica poached Jason Newsted from, they have remained solid and consistent over the course of their career.
While this, their thirteenth studio album probably won’t change that, it is yet another solid offering of straight up melodic thrash metal.

Opener ‘Prisoner Of Time’ launches a full on assault on your senses, coming across as the bastard son of Testament and Armored Saint, with new drummer Ken Mary wasting no time in making his mark. This continues through ‘Control’ as the band refuse to ease the listener in, instead grabbing them by the lapels and demanding attention.
The openers serve up a decent taste of what is to come as Flotsam and Jetsam carve out more evidence of just why they deserve wider recognition.

‘Architects Of Hate’ offers a slightly more sedate pace, while still offering enough raw energy to ensure your neck muscles get a proper work out, while ‘Prepare For Chaos’ is a hook laden slab of pure metal fury.
‘Demolition Man’, a chuggy, catchy offering that grooves with a passion and has more than a few echoes of Bush era Anthrax keeps things nicely varied for the listener before we head back into all out thrash territory for the frantic attack of ‘Unwelcome Surprise’, a track that, despite the title is warmly welcomed with open arms.

Whilst ‘Snake Eye’ carries on in this vein, with some breakneck guitar work shining through, ‘Survive’ sees the pace slow for a more melodic number with a rousing, almost anthemic chorus.
Penultimate track ‘Good Or Bad’ is, ironically, neither good nor bad and, while perfectly listenable, it comes over as deeply unmemorable and I feel that the album would not have suffered if it had been left off.
There are no such criticisms to be levelled at the 100mph closer ‘The End’, which sees the band unleash hell with a track that blends Maidenesque riffs to a thrash dynamic which ensures the album closes on a high note.

If you’ve not heard the band before then ‘The End Of Chaos’ would be as good a place as any to start. And if you’re already a fan then you’re going to find plenty to love here, as Flotsam and Jetsam cement their place as one of metal’s best kept secrets.




Track Listing:
01. Prisoner Of Time
02. Control
03. Recover
04. Prepare For Chaos
05. Slowly Insane
06. Architects Of Hate
07. Demolition Man
08. Unwelcome Surprise
09. Snake Eye
10. Survive
11. Good Or Bad
12. The End


Visit the band on Facebook: www.facebook.com/flotsamandjetsam.official

Official Website: www.flotsam-and-jetsam.com